New York Increases Penalties for Cell Phone Use: Texting While Driving Tickets are now 5- Points
by Seth Azria on 6/08/2013
On June 1, 2013, a conviction for cell phone use while driving increased to 5 points from 3 points.
The Department of Communication for the New York DMV announced that the DMV will impose 2 points for drivers found guilty of using a cell phone while driving for offense on or after February 16, 2011. Previously, no points were assigned for talking on a cell phone although two points are assigned for texting while driving violations. The new regulation will align the point penalty for both violations.
In November 2001, New York banned handheld cell phone use while driving and established a fine for the violation of up to $100. In November 2009, NY banned the use of portable electronic devices for texting while driving took and established $150 fine and 2 points for a violation.
New York, like many states, assign point values to traffic convictions. The higher the points the more serious the infraction and the stiffer the penalty. In New York, any driver that accumulates 11 points in an 18-month period will cause a license suspension. List of Points for New York traffic convictions. If a driver acquires 6 points or more in any 18-month period any driver, whether licensed in New York or not, will receive a driver responsibility assessment for a minimum of $300. Learn more about Driver Responsibility Assessments.