Points for Speeding Tickets and Other Traffic Infractions in New York
by Seth Azria on 7/17/2018
The New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) keeps track of NY driving records with a point system. Many traffic violations and all speeding ticket convictions have points associated with them.
Points mean fees, revocation, suspension, and can cause increases in your insurance premiums. Our goal is to protect your record from points by a securing a dismissal or negotiating a plea bargain to a reduced charge with less or no points. Depending on your driving record and the circumstances of your case, reductions to no-point, non-moving violations are often possible.
Points for Speeding Tickets
- 1-10 mph over posted limit - 3 points (Fine Range $130 - $243)
- 11-20 mph over - 4 points (Fine Range $175 - $393)
- 21-30 mph over - 6 points (Fine Range $175 - $393)
- 31-40 mph over 8 - points (Fine Range $255 - $693)
- over 40 mph over- 11 points (Fine Range $255 - $693)
The above fines are for first offense and include the $93 surcharge for town and village courts, the surcharge in city courts is $88.
Second conviction, the fine minimums are the same but the maximums increase to $385, $535, and $835.
Third conviction, the maximums increase to $610, $760, and $1,060.
The court must revoke a driving license if all three speeding convictions occurred in the same 18-month period. For more detailed information about speeding ticket fines and points.
Points for other Traffic Violations
- Cell Phone Use: 5 Points
- Texting While Driving: 5 Points
- Reckless Driving: 5 points
- Failure to Stop for a School Bus: 5 points
- Following too closely (tailgating): 4 points
- Failing to Yield Right-of-Way: 3 points
- Violation Involving Traffic Signal, Stop Sign, or Yield Sign: 3 points
- Improper Passing or Lane Use: 3 points
- Leaving scene of an incident involving property damage or injury to an animal: 3 points
- Failure to use proper child restraints: 3 points
Points accumulate and cause suspension and extra fines from the NY DMV for 6 or more points in 18 months called "Driver Responsibility Assessments."