New Jersey Drivers: Impact of New York Traffic Convictions
by Seth Azria on 10/17/2017
NJ Will Generally Add Two Points for a NY Conviction
A New Jersey driver convicted of a moving violation in New York will acquire points on their New Jersey driving record. New Jersey is a member the Driver License Compact and the Non-resident Violator Compact with a majority of other US states including New York. Through these agreements, the member states share information on all traffic violations.
A driver licensed in NJ, convicted of a moving violation in New York, such as speeding, will generally receive 2 points on their New Jersey driving record.
Our goal is to minimize the affect of your New York traffic ticket both in New York and in your home state.
One important point to keep in mind is that even though you may be licensed in New Jersey, the New York State DMV will still fine you if you accumulate 6 points in any 18 month period - these fines are called a “Driver Responsibility Assessments” and are similar to the New Jersey surcharges described below.
New Jersey Points and Suspensions
- 6 or More points within a 3 year period will cause a surcharge of $150 plus $25 for each point over 6. This fee will be due once a year for three years.
- 12 or more points on your current driving record will result in a suspension.
See the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission for more on Points and Fines
To find out how many points you have on your NJ Driver History Abstract you can obtain a copy of your record from the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission.
Call (315) 364-1155 for a complimentary case evaluation by an experienced traffic defense lawyer.