Card image

Free Traffic Ticket Case Evaluations. Call Now. (315) 364-1155

Traffic Defense Articles

Fines for §1180(b) and §1180(d) - Most Common Speeding Charges

by Seth Azria on 6/11/2018

1180(b) and 1180(d), are the two most common types of speeding tickets. Section 1180(b) is for exceeding the state speed limit and (d) is for exceeding the posted limit. The consequences for a conviction for either are:

Fines and Possible Jail

for the first conviction in 18 Months

  • $45 - $150 - For 10 mph over the limit or less. No possible jail.
  • $90 - $300 - For 11-30 mph over the limit, Up to 15 days in jail. 
  • $180 - $300 - For 31 mph or more over the limit. Up to 30 days in jail.

for the second conviction in 18 Months

  • $45 - $300 - For 10 mph over the limit or less. No possible jail.
  • $90 - $450 - For 11-30 mph over the limit. Up to 30 days in jail. 
  • $180 - $750 - For 31 mph or more over the limit. Up to 30 days in jail.

for the third conviction in 18 Months

  • $45 - $525 - For 10 mph over the limit or less. No possible jail. License Suspension.*
  • $90 - $675 - For 11-30 mph over the limit. Up to 30 days in jail. License Suspension.*
  • $180 - $975 - For 31 mph or more over the limit. Up to 30 days in jail. License Suspension.*

*For three speeding convictions of any type within 18 months, the DMV will suspended a driving privilege for 6 months.

*ForCDL drivers, one conviction for speeding, 15 mph over the limit or more, will cause a 60-day license suspension and after a second conviction within 3 years, a 120-day suspension.

Mandatory Surcharge

  • $93 for town and village courts
  • $88 for other courts, e.g. city courts

Points for Speeding Convictions

  • 1-10 over the posted limit - 3 points
  • 11-20 over the posted limit - 4 points
  • 21-30 over the posted limit - 6 points** ($300 DRA)
  • 31-40 over the posted limit - 8 points** ($450 DRA)
  • over 40 over the posted limit - 11 points** ($675 DRA and license suspension)

**A conviction for 6 points or more in any 18 month period will cause a Driver Responsibility Assessment (DRA), from the New York DM in the amount listed. This assessment will be due in addition to the court fine and applies all drivers regardless of where they are licensed to drive. 

**New York state suspends driving license of driver who accumulates 11 points or more in any 18 month period. Therefore, one conviction for speeding 41 mph over the limit, or more, will cause a suspension all by itself. 

Need help with your ticket?

Don't plead guilty. Minimize the impact of that ticket.


Our experienced traffic defense lawyers are always available to talk to you about your case.

Call Now (315) 364-1155

 

Azria & Bruffett PLLC BBB Business Review

 
Took care of business

Excellent job on reducing points from speeding ticket. The case was dismissed with minimal court fine. I am very pleased with the result and would highly recommend A&B firm for traffic related court matters.

anonymous

 

Can't talk now?

Schedule a time for a lawyer to call you when it's convenient.

 Schedule a Call for Later

Top Rated Award Winning Law Firm in Syracuse

Azria & Bruffett Law Firm has handled thousands of cases all over New York State. We have extensive experience to help us inform, predict, and handle your case smoothly. Our traffic defense lawyers handle nearly all tickets pending in most of the courts and counties below:

Albany, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Dutchess, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, St. Lawrence, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates counties.